Click to translate our website:
Home > About > The Governing Body

The Governing Body


Our Role

Sudbourne is extremely lucky to have an active and supportive Governing Body. 

Governors work in partnership with the Headteacher and other school staff to promote high standards of educational achievement and to drive the strategic direction of the school.

The Governing Body's has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of staff, and
  • Overseeing the financial management of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Our Structure

Governing bodies are made up of key stakeholders.  Our governing body consists of:

  • 3 parent governors elected by other parents at the school
  • 1 Local Authority governor which the LA appoints
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 staff governor – which can include teaching and non-teaching staff - is elected by the school staff
  • 7 co-opted governors which are appointed by the governing body

Our Meetings/Committees

The governing body meets at least 6 times a year with termly Business and Strategic meetings. In addition to these meetings, the Governing Body delegates certain responsibilities with respect to finance, performance management and resources to:

  • The Resources Committee (meets 3 times per year)
  • The Pay Committee (meets annually)

Both committees report the details of their meetings back to the governing body.

Acting as a governor enables individuals from the LA, school staff, community and parent body to play an important role in shaping the future of the school. We currently have one co-opted governor vacancy.  For more information, please see below.

Our Members

Currently our governors are:

Local Authority

Hannah Sheehan (Chair; Resource Committee Member; Pay Committee Member)


Richard Blackmore (Resource Committee Member; Pay Committee Member)

Staff Governor

Keri Dougal

Co-opted Governors

Penny Porter-Mill (Joint Vice Chair; Resource Committee Member; Pay Committee Member)

Melanie Howlett-Khera (Joint Vice Chair; Resource Committee Member)

Dalia Goldberg (Resource Committee Vice Chair; Pay Committee Vice Chair)

David Lara

Brigid O'Leary

Megs Middleton

Parent Governors

Holly Mellors (Resource Committee Chair; Pay Committee Chair)

Veena Natarajan

Chris Taylor

Associate Members

Nicky Bradbury

Paul Gill

James Lai

Sinead McBrearty

Kemi Arogundade (Resource Committee Member)


Charmaine Strelitz

Get in touch

If you would like to contact any of the governors please email:

For further governor information, please download the document below.

DownloadsGoverning Body Data March 17.pdf